Overnight oats are my new best thing

This morning I had my overnight oats that I made last night for the first time. The mixture looked MUCH better this morning, especially after I threw on a tablespoon of honey and 15 almonds (for a total of 360 calories).

It was more caloric than I normally like my breakfast, but it was SO worth it. It honestly tasted like an oatmeal cookie ice cream combo – two of my most favorite things in the world. I will definitely be making this again. And again. And again.

Today was my first “cheat day.” (I’m eating 1250 calories on weekdays, and 2000 on Friday and Saturday, for a weekly average of 1450.) I decided not to go out tonight, so there were no alcohol calories on the horizon. As a result, I splurged with my eating a little bit.

When I got home from work, I made the saddest single person dinner ever. Don’t judge me. It looked like this:

I call this a “single person” dinner because no self-respecting person would eat this meal in front of another human being. It’s the kind of dinner you eat alone on your couch while watching Law and Order SVU (which I did).

What you’re looking at is a Trader Joe’s brown rice tortilla, with some Daiya dairy-free cheddar shreds, and a handful of turkey pepperoni. All melted in the microwave. (No shame.) It was actually pretty delicious and I had 2 of them, for a total of 600 calories. This “pizza” may not have been hearty by any means, but it looked big and took awhile to eat, which helped me feel satisfied.

In other news, today I ran a mile for the first time since March!

This might not seem like a big deal, especially to all you runners out there, but it’s an accomplishment for me. I feel like I’m getting back in the swing of things. It definitely helped that a beautiful man was running on the treadmill next to me, which discouraged me from stopping after half a mile (which I’ve been doing). Turns out, I had it in me!

Have a good weekend everyone!

2 thoughts on “Overnight oats are my new best thing

  1. virginia

    Awww… you’re still young and you give so many restrictions on yourself with food. But I do admire your determination and I do hope you get to achieve your goal of losing all those unwanted pounds. But we kinda share the same breakfast everyday. Every single day I have microwaved rolled oats, a banana, and 2-3 tablespoons of cranberry nut medley (which consists of dried cranberries, cashews, almonds, and pumpkin seeds). I don’t get hungry until lunchtime. I’ll be sharing it on my blog especially for you. And by the way, thanks for checking out my blog and for the follow. Cheers. :)

    Reply
    1. byebyebullshit Post author

      Thank you! That sounds amazing. My mom recently told me she puts protein powder in her oatmeal to keep her extra full? I may try it but it sounds gross :/ And yeah…lots of restrictions. But that’s after years of eating everything in sight so it evens out! :)

      Reply

Leave a comment

