Crazies in the kitchen

I don’t like cooking.

I don’t mean that I’m not good at it (which I’m not), or that I’m intimidated by it (which I am), I just truly hate the process.

Not only am I a clumsy disaster (about half of the ingredients end up on the floor), but I’m also completely impatient. Once I spend a good chunk of time preparing something, I enjoy eating it immensely less than if I had said “I’m hungry!” and someone simply gave it to me (think: a restaurant).

Some would say this goes against all logic. Which it probably (definitely) does. But it’s just plain true. Me + the kitchen don’t go together.

That being said, I’m starting to be less stubborn about cooking. I’m spending a lot less time in restaurants, so this magical scenario where someone just gives me what I want to eat shortly after I ask for it is less likely. And I’m getting a little sick of my makeshift meals. There’s only so many times you can eat deli turkey on a low-cal wrap.

Plus, I’ve always wanted to make something from skinnytaste.com.

The creator shares AMAZING recipes, beautifully photographed, and gives the nutrition info for all of it. There’s everything from dessert, to crock-pot family meals, to vegan options. She makes it so easy for dieters, but I’ve been too lazy to try.

Tonight I had a few friends come over for dinner. They offered to cook, but knowing that I was calorie-counting, I wanted to be sure I knew what exactly I was eating…so I volunteered. I made the Turkey Chili Taco Soup. And it was DELICIOUS. Super easy, fairly quick, and totally spaz-friendly. I even have leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

My version didn’t have cheese, obviously. And I had a small 90 calorie wheat roll instead of chips. (This picture above is from the website.) But it was delicious nonetheless. And for only 160 calories a cup, I will definitely be making it again soon.

I’m also trying to expand my breakfast horizons. I’ve been eating oatmeal more and more, and today I discovered recipes for “overnight oats.” For those who aren’t familiar, “overnight oats” are rolled oats put in the fridge overnight in some sort of liquid (usually milk or yogurt). The oats absorb the liquid by morning. Cold oatmeal sounds like it would taste like a dessert (with the right toppings of course), so I decided to try it.

Tonight I put 1/3 cup rolled oats with 2/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk and half a sliced banana into the fridge. Right now it looks like this (you’re staring down into the bowl):

Hopefully tomorrow it will be delicious-looking. I’m thinking I’ll add some almonds in the morning. Maybe honey. We’ll see.

Oh, and my new eating plan is going well so far. I’ve eaten 1250 calories for the past 2 days, and went to the gym yesterday. And I’m going again tomorrow.

I got this!

Leave a comment

