This ain’t twerkin for me

Half a pound.

I lost half a pound.

Weight loss isn’t linear.

Weight loss isn’t linear.

Weight loss isn’t linear.

Maybe if I repeat this over and over again, it will somehow make me feel better about my 0.5 lb loss this week.

And it does. A little. But in reality, I lost 0.2 lbs last week, and 0.5 lbs this week…and that’s not good enough for me. I need to lose almost 50 lbs, and if I keep up this snail-like pace, I’m looking at reaching my goal in late 2014.

Slow and steady may finish the race, but “normal, acceptable pace” beats “slow and steady” any day.

So I’m changin shit up.

I figured out that, in the last 6 days, I’ve eaten an average of 1650 calories every day, and I exercised for 90 minutes 3 separate times. That led to this 0.5 lb weight loss. Obviously this is not working for me.

The truth is, weekends are what trip me up. I hang out with my friends, go out to eat, and drink a little more than I probably need to. On Saturday I had 1850 calories (due to alcohol) and Friday I had 2500 (due to a slight meltdown where I consumed 3 carrot cupcakes in 20 minutes – let’s not talk about that). So while I ate under 1400 every weekday, my weekend calories increased my average significantly.

So what am I gonna do? I decided that every weekday for the next 7 days I’m going to eat 1250 calories. But then on Friday and Saturday I’m allowing myself 2000 calories per day, or 4000 total, however I want to split it up. And I’m going to exercise FIVE times. This will give me an average of apprx. 1450 calories consumed per day, with hundreds of calories burned in exercise on top of that.

I’m hoping this will give me the extra kick in the butt on I need to get that scale moving.

The good news is, I’m no longer as hungry as I was. I was literally waking up, starving during the first week of this diet. But now my body is adjusting, so hopefully 1250 will be doable.

I’m not sure what the scale will have in store for me next week, but I’m excited to give this new plan a try.

2 thoughts on “This ain’t twerkin for me

  1. missionabspossible

    Keep your head up. Any weight loss is a good weight loss. I do not recommend going anything lower than 1250 calories, and that seems a bit low. http://www.weight-loss-i.com/calorie-needs-katch-mcardle.htm I would check out that site to get a good idea on how many calories you should be eating per day. If you don’t eat enough, you’ll go into starvation mode and losing weight will be difficult as your body will start to eat away at muscle and not fat.

    Stay focused and positive and focus on healthy foods and good strong workouts!

    Reply

Leave a comment

