Just keep swimming

For all of you out there that say the scale doesn’t matter to you, I say….you’re lying. No matter how much we tell ourselves that we don’t care what the scale says, we do. It’s the most definitive way to measure our progress. It’s quantitative. Generally, it’s hard to argue with numbers.

That being said, yesterday I put on a pair of jeans (granted, these are my “big girl” jeans, but I’ll take what I can get) that I used to have trouble buttoning. I mean, last week I literally felt like I was in a denim-spandex-like straight jacket. But yesterday, they zipped easily. They weren’t loose by any means, but they fit normally. It’s amazing what 10 days of eating well can do.

But then I got on the scale this morning.

Apparently, I only lost 0.2 pounds in the past 8 days?? I lose 3.1 pounds in the first 3 days of dieting, but now I only get 0.2?! It makes no sense.

To make matters worse, I got on the scale ten minutes after my first attempt this morning and it said I gained a pound….in ten minutes.

What gives? Is it because I’m bloated? Was I particularly un-bloated last week? Did I eat a heavy meal last night? What is going on?!?

As much as I analyze, I still don’t know the answer. Trying to analyze the scale is as useless as trying to analyze the text you got last night from the guy you like. It’s a wishy-washy temperamental appliance that changes its mind and goes back on its word. And unfortunately, it has the power to make or break my mood.

So what to do? Part of me, of course, wants to believe that nothing will work and throw in the towel. But then I check myself. If I give up, I’ll hate the scale even more in a month when I have to start all over again. So I’ll just keep chugging along, hoping my efforts will eventually pay off in a definitive, countable way.

For now, I’ll just keep swimming.

3 thoughts on “Just keep swimming

  1. runninbear

    As much as the scale is important in tracking weight loss, it can only measure weight. Your body composition is likely to be changing. Muscle vs fat and all that stuff that you probably already know. My weight loss has slowed down heaps, but I keep going as I can see and feel my body changing. Don’t fret too much about it, make an active lifestyle and good food choices more important. In the long run, you will feel so much better!

    Reply
  2. missionabspossible

    Adding to what the previous commenter said, scales only measure weight. It’s important to make sure you measure yourself at the same time every time, with the same amount of clothing as well. Little things can throw the scale off, such as going before you use the bathroom in the morning, having an extra layer of clothes on, or having water before you weight yourself.

    Your best bet to refer to is what you said about your clothes fitting better, with being able to button your jeans. Don’t get discouraged by .2lbs. It’s .2lbs. And avoid jumping back on the scale later in the day. I recommend weighing yourself first thing in the morning after using the bathroom.

    If you’re in a caloric deficit, your definitely going to lose weight. If you’re worried about bloating, you may be having a bit too many carbs…carbs aren’t terrible but I would eat them earlier in the day, such as the starchy carbs like oatmeal, potatoes, things like that. Stick with the fibrous carbs (lettuce, spinach, kale) among others during the later part of the day. You can eat so many of those fibrous carbs because they are so calorie dense.

    Stay positive!

    Reply

Leave a comment

