A series of choices

I’m slowly learning something: Every day is a series of choices. We can either make choices that make us happy or choices that make us sad. It’s pretty simple. We’re not perfect, but we can choose to be happy in the long-term with every single decision that comes our way.

So today I decided to recognize and celebrate every happy choice I made.

At noon, my office served Mexican food for lunch: Enchiladas, quesadillas, guacamole, the works. All for free. Last week, I would have eaten my piggy little heart out. Today, I chose to eat a small plate of grilled chicken and steak, a bit of refried beans, and some peppers and onions. The happier choice!

Around 3:00, my office had a huge party and gave out tons of free candy, beer, and snacks (see a pattern here?) All I wanted to do was to stuff my face with candy.

But instead of 3 piles of this:

I had this!

Would it have been better for me to not eat anything at all? Probably. Actually, definitely. I didn’t need to eat in the middle of the afternoon. But still. I’m proud of myself for not diving teeth-first into a pile of swedish fish.

After work, I had to pick up a prescription from CVS and head to the gym. I really didn’t feel like working out – I’m sore from yesterday. So I made a compromise. I walked a mile and a half to get the pharmacy. Definitely not a full workout, but it was something. Better than driving and then lying like a log on my couch.

So today was not a perfect day. Hardly. But it was pretty damn good.

Plus I had a low-cal (and delicious!) dinner to make up for all my snacking.

A whole bag of butternut squash from Trader Joe’s, a tablespoon of Smart Balance, and 12 roasted almonds sliced in half. Only 330 calories! Yum.

What happy choices have you made today?

Leave a comment

